Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

 Industrial Development in Saudi Arabia

Introduction

 
 
 
 

 

Saudi industrial sector has witnessed a steady development with plenty of outstanding achievements. This is due to the great support given by the Saudi Government to this sector as it plays an important role in achieving the strategic and economic objectives of the Kingdom. The efforts to support the industrial development are based on several main pillars including creation of required infrastructure, establishment of Jubail and Yanbu and other industrial cities all over the Kingdom, establishment of the Saudi Industrial Development Fund, and offering of industrial incentives. The private sector's cooperation with the government plans and efforts made an effective impact on the industrial development achievements. The following information illustrates some of the Kingdom's industrial development indicators in the past:

 

(1) Increase in number of active factories and workers and volume of their investments:

The government has devoted great attention to industrial development as can be seen in its support and encouragement. As a result, Saudi industry has made a quantum leap particularly in industrial investments after the establishment of the Saudi Industrial Development Fund. The table below illustrates the growing number of active factories, investments and workers from 1974 to 2016, categorized by major industrial fields.

 

The industry in the Kingdom, as shown in the table below, has expanded significantly over the last four decades. The number of active factories increased from 206 in 1974 to 7,741 in 2016. Invested capital has also increased from SR 4.3 billion in 1974 to SR 1.1 trillion in 2016. The number of workers increased from nearly 10,000 in 1974 to more than one million workers in 2016.

 

In view of the sectoral structure of active factories in the Kingdom by the end of 2016, the non-metallic mineral products sector ranks first with 1,623 factories representing 21% of the total active factories. In terms of investment volume, the chemical and plastic sector ranks first with SR 532 billion representing 50% of total investments. The coke and refined petroleum sector comes second with approximately SR 123 billion (12%). In terms of the number of workers, the non-metallic mineral sector topped all activities with 198,000 workers representing 19% of total workforce in active factories.

 

Number of Factories, workers and total financing.

Industrial ActivityFactory No.
Total Finance
(SR Million)
Manpower No.
1974201619742016 19742016
Food products 151.311 122 58.922 73.4 790 23
Beverages 51.534 208 27.149 59.7 224 17
Textiles 17.882 0 6.917 0.0 97 1
Clothing 14.754 187 1.238 3.9 114 4
Leather and related products 2.602 9 526.8 0.6 32 1
Wood and products of wood and cork, excluding furniture. Certain types of thatching and plaiting materials 7.432 175 1.296 43.8 92 4
Paper and paper products 35.684 846 13.372 153.4 254 12
Printing and reproduction of recorded media 5.827 18 2.642 56.0 43 9
Coal coke and refined petroleum products 23.866 3202 123.278 300.0 150 2
Chemicals and chemical products 93.022 1578 532.430 1804.1 738 12
Basic pharmaceutical products and pharmaceuticals 9.714 - 5.239 - 40 -
Rubber and plastic products 95.083 522 26.767 107.4 1.030 9
Other non-metallic mineral products 198.095 1813 102.227 1499.3 1.623 24
Base metals 69.567 29 74.187 3.6 333 2
Preformed metal products, excluding Machinery and Equipment 118.331 600 23.927 133.0 1.097 32
Personal Computers, electronic and visual products 10.185 217 2.931 27.8 52 3
Electrical Equipment 39.984 40 18.321 2.4 232 7
Machinery and Equipment not classified elsewhere 35.785 5 36.783 9.1 224 9
Manufacture of motor vehicles and trailer vehicles and semi-trailers 14.132 25 2.893 6.3 153 7
Vehicles with engines, trailers or semi-trailers 4.663 0 1.052 0.1 10 1
Furniture 26.357 509 3.132 39.4 323 22
Other transforming industries 11.894 91 1.937 24.5 74 4
Repair and installation of Machinery and Equipment 141 13 10.9 0.2 3 1
Total 1,0371,845 10.209 1.067.185 4.348 7.741 206
 

Source: Ministry of Energy, Industry and Mineral Resources

 

(2) Industrial Production Development

The Kingdom's industrial production has grown significantly over the last period. Transforming industries GDP at constant prices, as shown in the diagram below, increased from SR 32 billion in 1974 to SR 310 billion by the end of 2016. The industrial sector growth rate continued to rise throughout this period. Transforming industries GDP's average annual growth during this period was about 5.6%, as one of the highest growth rates and most sustainable among other industrial sectors. Due to the significant development of transforming industries during this period, the sector's GDP share has increased from 3% in 1974 to 12% by the end of 2016. The contribution of the transforming industries sector in non-oil GDP has increased from 15% in 1974 to 22% in 2016. These percentages are indications to how successful the development plans are in pushing the industrial development, and to the pioneering role played by the industrial development Bodies led by the Saudi Industrial Development Fund, and the fruitful cooperation that these plans have received from the private sector.

 
 
 
 Source: General Authority for Statistics
 
 

The major transformation of the industrial sector's production structure during the last period is an important development indicator. As the transforming industries share (non-oil refining) increased from 32% of the industrial sector's GDP (constant prices) in 1974 To 69% by the end of 2016. This is a clear indicator of how this sector thrived, specially, the significant development and expansion of petrochemical industries in the Kingdom over the past two decades led by SABIC.

The Fund data and analysis show that the GDP of the transforming industries sector (non-oil refining) structure has developed significantly over the last two decades. Since the beginning of the 1990s, the Chemical products sector has been at the forefront of the GDP of the transforming industries sector (non-oil refining) structure. Sectors like Machinery and Equipment industry, Construction products, and Food products have witnessed significant development. Nowadays, these four sectors are the main contributors to the GDP of the Saudi transforming industry.

(3) Non-oil Industrial Exports Development:

The Kingdom has given great importance to the development of industrial exports in line with the Kingdom's comprehensive economic development strategies in expanding the production base and diversifying sources of income. Despite the relative novelty of the Saudi private sector's export experience, Saudi industrial exports have made significant improvement in this area. The Saudi petrochemical exports are the first to enter international markets and give positive image to Saudi products in terms of quality and price. The following table shows the contribution of Saudi industrial exports and development of prices from 1995 to 2016.

 

Non-oil Industrial Exports Development 1995 to 2016

Year

Industrial Exports (SR' Million)

% of Total Exports

% of Non-Oil GDP

199522,55812%6.6%
199621,3649.4%6%
199724,72110.9%6.4%
199821,13114.5%5.5%
199919,48810.3%4.9%
200022,9207.9%5.5%
200126,54710.4%6.2%
200227,69110.2%6.3%
200335,74310.2%7.6%
200447,56610.1%8.7%
200560,0008.9%9.8%
200670,0448.9%10.2%
200783,3119.5%10.9%
200898,7108.4%11.4%
200984,99711.8%9%
2010113,92412.1%10.6%
2011151,12511.1%12.4%
2012162,42811.2%12%
2013171,04112.1%11.6%
2014185,63114.5%11.6%
2015156,42320.4%8.9%
​2016145,911​21.2%​8.1%​

 Source:  General Authority for Statistics.

 

 

 

The table above shows a rapid growth in Saudi industrial exports over the last years by 9.3% a year from 1995 to 2016. The value of these exports increased from SR 22,558 million in 1995 to SR 145,911 million in 2016. It is interesting to note that the significant increase in the value of industrial exports in 2003 came after applying the GCC Customs Union regulations and in 2005 with the accession of the Kingdom to the World Trade Organization. The percentage of Saudi industrial exports contribution to non-oil GDP has increased from 6.6% in 1995 to 8.1% in 2016. This confirms the importance of exports as one of the most important factors of industrial development.

The following chart shows the exports of chemical and plastic products and other commodities from 1995 to 2016.

          

              
 
 

The chart above illustrates that exports of chemical and plastic products represents more than two thirds of the Saudi exports total. The value of these exports increased steadily from SR 15,621 million in 1995 to SR 16,698 million in 1997. In 1998 and 1999 exports value was affected by the decline in oil prices. Their value dropped down to SR 12,718 million in 1999, but it grew stronger than before with the improvement of oil markets to SR 104,519 million in 2016.

As for other industrial exports (other than chemical and plastic products), they also witnessed remarkable growth from 1995 to 2016, rising from SR 6,937 million in 1995 to SR 41,392 million in 2016.

التطور الصناعي في المملكة

 
​​

 

شهد القطاع الصناعي بالمملكة تطوراً مطّرداً حقق خلاله العديد من الإنجازات الباهرة. ويرجع ذلك إلى الاهتمام و الدعم الذي يجده هذا القطاع من الدولة، وذلك نظراً للدور الذي يقوم به في تحقيق الأهداف الاستراتيجية والاقتصادية للمملكة. ولقد اشتملت جهود الدولة في دعم التنمية الصناعية على عدة محاور أساسية، كان من ضمنها توفير البنية التحتية اللازمة وإنشاء مدينتي الجبيل وينبع الصناعيتين، وإنشاء المدن الصناعية بمختلف مناطق المملكة إلى جانب إنشاء صندوق التنمية الصناعية السعودي،  بالإضافة إلى تقديم عدد من الحوافز الصناعية الأخرى. وكان لتجاوب وتعاون القطاع الخاص مع الخطط والجهود الحكومية الأثر الفاعل في تحقيق إنجازات التنمية الصناعية. ونستعرض فيما يلي عدداً من مؤشرات التطور الصناعي بالمملكة خلال الفترة الماضية:

(1)  التطور في أعداد المصانع المنتجة وإجمالي التمويل وعدد العمالة:

 

أولت الدولة أهمية كبرى للتنمية الصناعية، وقدمت لها جميع وسائل الدعم والتشجيع، ونتيجة لذلك فقد خطت الصناعة السعودية خطوات كبيرة وتمثل ذلك بصورة أساسية في التطور الذي شهدته الاستثمارات الصناعية في المملكة، خصوصاً منذ إنشاء صندوق التنمية الصناعية السعودي. ويـوضح الجدول التالي التطور في أعداد المصانع المنتجة وحجم استثماراتها وعمالتها بيـن عامي 1974م - 2016م مصنفة حسب الأنشطة الصناعية الرئيسية.

وكما يتضح من الجدول أدناه، فإن القاعدة الصناعية في المملكة شهدت توسعاً كبيراً خلال الأربعة عقود الماضية، حيث قفزت عدد المصانع المنتجة من (206) مصنعاً في عام 1974م إلى (7.741) مصنعاً في عام 2016م. وبصورة موازية ارتفع رأس المال المستثمر من حوالي 4.3 بليون ريال في عام 1974م إلى حوالي 1.1 تريليون ريال في عام 2016م . كما ارتفع عدد العمالة من حوالي (10) ألاف عامل في عام 1974م إلى اكثر من مليون عامل في عام 2016م .

وبالنظر إلى هيكل التركيبة القطاعية للمصانع المنتجة بالمملكة بنهاية عام 2016م ، فإننا نجد أن قطاع صناعة منتجات المعادن اللافلزية الأخرى يتصدر بقية القطاعات من حيث عدد المصانع بعدد (1.623) مصنعا تمثل 21% من إجمالي عدد المصانع المنتجة، كما يتصدر نشاط صناعة المواد الكيمائية والبلاستيكية المنتجات الكيميائية بقية الانشطة من حيث حجم الاستثمارات (532) بليون ريال – تقريباً- تمثل ما نسبته 50% من إجمالي استثمارات المصانع المنتجة. ويليه نشاط صناعة فحم الكوك والمنتجات النفطية المكررة بحجم استثمارات (123) بليون ريال – تقريباً- تمثل ما نسبته 12%. فيما يتصدر نشاط صناعة منتجات المعادن اللافلزية الأخرى كافة الانشطة من حيث عدد العمالة (198) ألف عامل تمثل ما نسبته 19% من إجمالي عمالة المصانع المنتجة.

 

 عدد المصانع المنتجة وإجمالي تمويلها وعدد العمالة

الأنشطة الصناعية                               
عدد المصانع
إجمالي التمويل
(مليون ريال)
عدد العمالة
1974م 2016م1974م2016م1974م 2016م
صنع المنتجات الغذائية 23 790 73.4 58.922 122 151.311
صنع المشروبات 17 224 59.7 27.149 208 51.534
صنع المنسوجات 1 97 0.0 6.917 0 17.882
صنع الملبوسات 4 114 3.9 1.238 187 14.754
صنع المنتجات الجلدية والمنتجات ذات الصلة 1 32 0.6 526.8 9 2.602
صنع الخشب ومنتجات الخشب والفلين، باستثناء الاثاث؛ صنع اصناف من القش ومواد الضفر 4 92 43.8 1.296 175 7.432
صنع الورق ومنتجات الورق 12 254 153.4 13.372 846 35.684
الطباعة واستنساخ وسائط الاعلام المسجلة 9 43 56.0 2.642 18 5.827
صنع فحم الكوك والمنتجات النفطية المكررة 2 150 300.0 123.278 3202 23.866
صنع المواد الكيميائية والمنتجات الكيميائية 12 738 1804.1 532.430 1578 93.022
صنع المنتجات الصيدلانية الاساسية والمستحضرات الصيدلانية - 40 - 5.239 - 9.714
صنع منتجات المطاط واللدائن 9 1.030 107.4 26.767 522 95.083
صنع منتجات المعادن اللافلزية الاخرى 24 1.623 1499.3 102.227 1813 198.095
صنع الفلزات القاعدية 2 333 3.6 74.187 29 69.567
صنع منتجات المعادن المشكلة، باستثناء الآلات والمعدات 32 1.097 133.0 23.927 600 118.331
صنع الحواسيب والمنتجات الالكترونية والبصرية 3 52 27.8 2.931 217 10.185
صنع المعدات الكهربائية 7 232 2.4 18.321 40 39.984
صنع الآلات والمعدات غير المصنفة في موضع اخر 9 224 9.1 36.783 5 35.785
صنع المركبات ذات المحركات والمركبات المقطورة ونصف المقطورة 7 153 6.3 2.893 25 14.132
صنع معدات النقل الاخرى 1 10 0.1 1.052 0 4.663
صنع الاثاث 22 323 39.4 3.132 509 26.357
الصناعات التحويلية الاخرى 4 74 24.5 1.937 91 11.894
اصلاح وتركيب الآلات والمعدات 1 3 0.2 10.9 13 141
المجموع 206 7.741 4.348 1.067.185 10.209 1.037.845

                                

المصدر : وزارة الطاقة والصناعة والثروة المعدنية.

 

 

 

(2)  التطور في الإنتاج الصناعي :

شهد الإنتاج الصناعي في المملكة نمواً كبيراً خلال الفترة الماضية. وكما يتبين من الشكل التالي فإن إجمالي الناتج المحلي بالأسعار الثابتة للصناعات التحويلية قد ارتفع من مستوى 32 بليون ريال في عام 1974م إلى حوالي 310 بليون ريال بنهاية عام 2016م. كما أن معدلات نمو القطاع الصناعي ظلت في اتجاه تصاعدي طوال هذه الفترة، حيث بلغ متوسط النمو السنوي لإجمالي الناتج الحقيقي للصناعات التحويلية خلال هذه الفترة حوالي 5.6%، وهو من أعلى معدلات النمو بين القطاعات الاقتصادية الأخرى وأكثرها استدامة. ونتيجة للتطور الكبير الذي شهده الإنتاج في الصناعات التحويلية خلال هذه الفترة، فقد ارتفعت نسبة مساهمة القطاع في الناتج المحلي الإجمالي للمملكة من 3% في عام 1974م إلى 12% بنهاية عام 2016م. وبصورة موازية ارتفعت نسبة مساهمة قطاع الصناعات التحويلية في الناتج المحلي الإجمالي غير النفطي من 15% في عام 1974م إلى 22% في عام 2016م. وتشير هذه النسب إلى نجاح خطط التنمية في دفع النهضة الصناعية، وإلى الدور الريادي الذي لعبته الجهات المعنية بالتنمية الصناعية وعلى رأسها صندوق التنمية الصناعية السعودي، والتعاون المثمر الذي لقيته هذه الخطط من قبل القطاع الخاص.

 

المصدر : الهيئة العامة للإحصاء
  
 

ويعتبر التحول الكبير الذي حدث في التركيبة الإنتاجية للقطاع الصناعي خلال الحقبة الماضية من المؤشرات الهامة على تطور القطاع الصناعي في المملكة، حيث ارتفع نصيب الصناعات التحويلية (الأخرى غير تكرير النفط) من 32% من إجمالي الناتج المحلي للقطاع الصناعي (بالأسعار الثابتة) في عام 1974م إلى 69% مـن إجمالي الناتج المحلي للقطاع الصناعي بنهاية عام 2016م. ويعكس هذا الاتجاه حيوية وفعالية قطاع الصناعات التحويلية السعودية (الأخرى غير تكرير النفط). ويشار هنا بصفة خاصة إلى التطور والاتساع الكبير الذي شهدته صناعات البتروكيماويات في المملكة خلال العقدين الماضيين بريادة الشركة السعودية للصناعات الأساسية (سابك).

وتظهر البيانات والتحليلات التي قام بها الصندوق أن تركيبة الناتج المحلي الإجمالي لقطاع الصناعات التحويلية (غير تكرير النفط) قد شهدت تطوراً كبيراً خلال العقدين الماضيين. ومنذ بداية عقد التسعينات أصبح قطاع المنتجات الكيماوية يحتل موقع الصدارة في تركيبة الناتج المحلي الإجمالي لقطاع الصناعات التحويلية (غير تكرير النفط). ومن القطاعات التي شهدت تطوراً كبيراً أيضاً قطاع صناعة المعدات والآلات، وقطاع منتجات البناء وقطاع المنتجات الغذائيـة. وفي الوقت الحاضر تسهم هذه القطاعات الأربعة بالنصيب الأكبر من إجمالي الناتج المحلي للصناعة التحويلية السعودية.

 

(3)  التطور في الصادرات الصناعية غير النفطية:

أولت المملكة إهتماماً كبيراً لتنمية الصادرات الصناعية تمشياً مع استراتيجيات التنمية الاقتصادية الشاملة للدولة في توسيع القاعدة الإنتاجية وتنويع مصادر الدخل. وبالرغم من الحداثة النسبية لتجربة القطاع الخاص السعودي في مجال التصدير، إلا أن الصادرات الصناعية السعودية قد خطت خطوات كبيرة في هذا المجال. ولقد كان للصادرات البتروكيماوية السعودية قصب السبق في الدخول إلى الأسواق العالمية، كما ساهمت في إعطاء صورة إيجابية عن المنتجات السعودية من حيث الجودة والسعر. ويوضح الجدول التالي التطور في قيم ومساهمة الصادرات الصناعية السعودية خلال الفترة 1995-2016م .

التطور في الصادرات الصناعية غير النفطية : 1995-2016م

السنوات
الصادرات الصناعية (مليون ريال)
النسبة إلى إجمالي الصادرات
النسبة إلى الناتج المحلي غير النفطي
1995 22.558 12% 6.6%
1996 21.364 9.4% 6%
1997 24.721 10.9% 6.4%
1998 21.131 14.5% 5.5%
1999 19.488 10.3% 4.9%
2000 22.920 7.9% 5.5%
2001 26.547 10.4% 6.2%
2002 27.691 10.2% 6.3%
2003 35.743 10.2% 7.6%
2004 47.566 10.1% 8.7%
2005 60.000 8.9% 9.8%
2006 70.044 8.9% 10.2%
2007 83.311 9.5% 10.9%
2008 98.710 8.4% 11.4%
2009 84.997 11.8% 9%
2010 113.924 12.1% 10.6%
2011 151.125 11.1% 12.4%
2012 162.428 11.2% 12%
2013 171.041 12.1% 11.6%
2014 185.631 14.5% 11.6%
2015 156.423 20.5% 8.9%
2016 145.911 21.2% 8.1%
 
المصدر : الهيئة العامة للإحصاء.
       
 
 

ويتضح من الجدول السابق أن الصادرات الصناعية السعودية حققت نمواً سريعاً وكبيراً خلال السنوات الماضية، حيث نمت الصادرات الصناعية السعودية بمعدل 9.3% سنوياً خلال الفترة 1995-2016م، ولترتفع بذلك قيمتها من 22.558 مليون ريال عام 1995م إلى 145.911 مليون ريال عام 2016م. ومن اللافت للنظر الارتفاع الكبير في قيمة الصادرات الصناعية عام 2003م مع بدء سريان تطبيق الاتحاد الجمركي الخليجي الموحد، وفي عام 2005م مع انضمام المملكة لمنظمة التجارة العالمية. وبالنظر إلى نسبة الصادرات الصناعية إلى الناتج المحلي غير النفطي للمملكة نجد أن هذه النسبة قد ارتفعت من 6.6% في عام 1995م لتبلغ 8.1% في عام 2016م، وهو ما يؤكد على أهمية التصدير كأحد أبرز عوامل التنمية الصناعية.

وبالنظر إلى التركيبة السلعية للصادرات الصناعية السعودية غير النفطية، يوضح الشكل التالي صادرات المنتجات الكيماوية والبلاستيك والصادرات السلعية الأخرى خلال الفترة 1995-2016م.

 
 
المصدر :الهيئة العامة للإحصاء.
                               

 

وكما يتضح من الشكل فإن صادرات المنتجات الكيماوية والبلاستيك تمثل أكثر من ثلثي إجمالي الصادرات الصناعية السعودية، وقد شهدت صادرات المنتجات الكيماوية والبلاستيك خلال هذه الفترة تزايداً مطّرداً حيث ارتفعت قيمتها من 15.621 مليون ريال في عام 1995م لتصل إلى حوالي 16.698 مليون ريال في عام 1997م. ثم تأثرت بتراجع اسعار النفط عامي 1998و 1999م وانخفضت قيمتها إلى 12.718 مليون ريال في 1999م ، إلا أنها عادت للنمو بقوة بعد ذلك مع تحسن أسواق النفط لتسجل 104.519 مليون ريال في عام 2016م.

أما بالنسبة للصادرات الصناعية الأخرى (غير المنتجات الكيماوية والبلاستيك) فقد شهدت أيضاً نمواً ملحوظاً خلال الفترة 1995-2016م، حيث ارتفعت من حوالي 6.937 مليون ريال في عام 1995م لتبلغ 41.392 مليون ريال في عام 2016م.